An AI trainer teaches staff to use the AI tools their employer has approved. The work is workshops, coaching, short guides and e-learning, built around the tasks people do, plus tracking whether confidence and use go up. We read the 7 UK AI trainer ads on our site (posted between 23 Sep 2026 and 21 Oct 2026) to see where employers put the role, who it reports to and who it works with. 1 of the 7 states a reporting line, and 3 state pay.
Where the role sits
Four of the seven ads put the role in a learning team: Learning & Development, an IT training team or, at one training provider, an apprenticeship team. bp is the exception. Its AI Engagement, Community and Training Lead sits in a new central AI enablement function and leads its own team.
| Role | Employer | Where it sits | Reports to | Works with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Adoption Trainer | Professional services firm (via Artis Recruitment) | Works across the business at a professional services firm | Not stated | Teams across the business |
| AI Training Specialist | We Are Zenith | Apprenticeship team at a training provider | Apprenticeship Manager | Business development and curriculum teams, employer partners |
| AI IT Training Specialist | Legal organisation (via Circle Recruitment) | Training role at a legal organisation | Not stated | Stakeholders across all departments |
| IT Trainer (AI) | International law firm (via Picture More) | IT Training team at an international law firm | Not stated | Teams across the business |
| AI Engagement, Community and Training Lead | bp | A new central AI Enablement & Programme Management team | Not stated | Communications, Training, AI Governance, Digital Security, Workplace and Resilience, business-facing Digital VPs and AI delivery teams |
| AI Capability Learning & Development Manager / Senior Manager – dependent on experience | Hogan Lovells | Digital Learning & Development | Not stated | Head of Digital L&D, Knowledge, Innovation, Legal Tech, practice groups and business teams |
| AI-Enabled Learning Content Design Lead | Freshfields | Global Learning & Development team | Not stated | Senior stakeholders and sponsors, subject matter experts, external suppliers |
From the ad text, read on 25 Oct 2026. "Not stated" means the ad doesn't give a reporting line. Closed ads are shown without a link.
Reporting lines
1 of the 7 ads names a manager: We Are Zenith (Apprenticeship Manager). The other 6 leave it out. Decide it before you advertise: it sets the seniority and the pay, and tells candidates who will back them when a team pushes back.
How cross-functional it is
Training roles reach every department, because the learners are everywhere. The ads also connect them to the teams that own the rules and the tools. bp's ad lists the most: communications, training, AI governance, digital security and the business-facing digital leaders. Hogan Lovells names knowledge, innovation, legal technology and the practice groups.
Where the role stops
bp spells out where its role stops. It doesn't set AI strategy, run company-wide internal communications, deliver training itself or make decisions about which AI tools are allowed. Those stay with other teams, and the role coordinates them. Saying this in your own ad stops a trainer being expected to own policy.
Day to day
- Plan and run AI training for different teams and levels, in person and online.
- Teach prompting and what the tools can and can't do, using examples from the team's own work.
- Explain the rules on safe use: what data can go into which tool, and when a person must check the output.
- Build short guides, e-learning and recorded sessions people can come back to.
- Find the tasks where AI saves time and turn them into practical use cases.
- Collect feedback and usage figures, and change the training when they show a gap.
The first 90 days
None of the 7 ads sets out what the person should achieve in their first months, so the plan below is ours, built from the duties the ads list.
A first 90 days we would suggest, based on the duties in these ads:
- Days 1 to 30: meet IT, security, legal and the teams with the most licences. Find out which tools and uses are approved, what usage data exists, and which tasks people want help with.
- Days 31 to 60: run a first set of sessions for two or three teams using their own tasks. Publish short guides and a place to ask questions.
- Days 61 to 90: compare usage and confidence with the starting point, change the content where it isn't landing, and agree a plan for the rest of the business with the role's manager.
What to pay
Of the 7 AI trainer ads we have listed (posted between 23 Sep 2026 and 21 Oct 2026), 3 (43%) state pay. The 3 that give an annual salary range run from £40,000 to £65,000. With 3 annual salaries we show the range, not a median. See the salary benchmarks.
How to assess candidates
Our suggestions:
- Ask them to teach a ten-minute session on one of your tools to a colleague who rarely uses AI.
- Ask how they would explain your rules on what data can go into which tool.
- Ask for one example of training they changed because the numbers or the feedback showed it wasn't working.
Writing the ad
Use our AI trainer job description template. Put the pay, the reporting line and the first-year measures in it: they are the parts most often missing from the ads we read.
Advertise your AI trainer role
List it on Second Wave AI Jobs. We link straight to your own ad, so applications come to you.
Free to post until 31 Jan 2027, then paid. Founding employers keep launch pricing.
Questions
How do I hire an AI trainer?
Decide where the role sits and who it reports to, list the teams it will work with, set two or three first-year measures, and state the pay. Then advertise on your own careers site and on boards that list this work. Of the 7 UK AI trainer ads we have listed, 1 gives a reporting line and 3 state pay.
Who does an AI trainer report to?
It varies. In the ads we have listed: We Are Zenith, Apprenticeship Manager. 6 of 7 ads don't say.
What does an AI trainer cost in the UK?
Of the 7 AI trainer ads we have listed (posted between 23 Sep 2026 and 21 Oct 2026), 3 (43%) state pay. The 3 that give an annual salary range run from £40,000 to £65,000. With 3 annual salaries we show the range, not a median.